A green organization making the change to yellow.

Project Description

A green organization making the change to yellow.

As we walk into the hallway of the office I notice a sign hanging on the door that reads „Quiet – do not disturb“ so I ask the manager „what’s this all about?“ and he replied „We begin our meetings with 10 minutes of silence, so that everyone can integrate, get present, and then go straight to problem solving without a façade, agenda, or other such nonsense. When we walk into his actual office I cannot detect an ounce of chaos, stress or any evidence of disorder. So I ask him „Are you about to go on vacation?“ and he says „No, I’m here to be the coach and advisor for my employees who now make all of their own decisions on their own” “Aha” I replied, “And what does that mean exactly?” and then he said “Up until 2 years ago, myself and the other 3 managers were responsible for every problem that came across our desks. After watching the mountain of unresolved problems grow and grow, we became overwhelmed had to change something. Now, our employees mostly only come to us once in awhile for situations in which they can use another perspective, or help connecting them to ways in which they can still solve the problem for themselves. “Wow” I replied, “That requires a lot of trust. And what happens when things go wrong? Do you just replace the wrong-doers?” “Not at all”, he replied calmly, “We can all learn from mistakes, and the worst thing we could do as managers would be to stick our necks into everything – that would just get in the way of allowing potential to develop and we would just get stuck doing everything ourselves once again.”

This particular organization had been stuck in a rut of being “too green”, or what I like to call the “green-swamp syndrome”. Everyone had free rein to speak his or her mind, everybody was given the opportunity to be listened to, and all input was taken into consideration. Nobody hurt anyone else’s feelings, everybody felt equal, and everyone was made to feel included – and at the end of the day, nothing got done! So the constellation changed, and the focus shifted to integrating self-awareness, getting in touch with feelings, and naming them. Developing closer contact with one another, through empathy and presence, for oneself, for one another, and being open for potential to blossom. Conflict resolution workshops were expanded to include the theme of being present in communication. All of these factors helped to anchor a new awareness into the everyday corporate life.

The process flowed from the top – down, yes, you got that right. First it was the managers who committed themselves to the process, then the department heads, and then the employees. This formation created a great deal of trust in the process, to show that management wouldn’t ask anything of their employees that they wouldn’t first do themselves. Suddenly, among this crowd of engineers, expressing feelings, doubts, and concerns became fundamental to their work. They found that they were able to access their new found awareness to find solutions to problems that had previously seemed unsolvable. Even the number of meetings declined, as issues that had once led to conflict were detected earlier on and more easily discharged. There has been a higher incidence of conflict resolution because the approach is no longer focused on a person, or their role – it is about the underlying needs, and the people as a whole. Potential became revealed that was not even under the radar before. The space had been made available for it. And it was arrived at through a conscious choice made by all, not out of mandatory obligation.

Think about the following: If you had an employee who is content in their position as a software developer, for example, you wouldn’t encourage them to do something else that doesn’t fit, would you? So the same holds true for an employee that, for example, wants to step down from their position, or doesn’t have the time, desire, nor interest in developing their self-awareness. It is neither good nor bad. The conditions to develop potential are provided, handed out, offering awareness, and connection to potential possibilities. Someone is bound to step up to the plate, prepared to explore the depths of their own potential, taking the next step to experience who they really are.

A corporate culture that is invested in the development of potential does not conflict with the flow of resources. The point is always of course to earn money as well. The fundamental difference is that we are not stuck in the mud. The company in this example holds an “innovation circle” four times a year, which is completely devoted to the corporate culture of the company, and attended by managers and staff who have already attended seminars, and put what they learn into practice. Here we witness once again the difference between “Orange” and “Green”. Sitting in a 360° circle, everyone is equal, regardless of position. When management disagrees with a proposal, there is never a “Red” word muttered, that would cancel out the “Green” or “Yellow” input, instead there is an inner circle created, an intimate pow-wow, in which the 4 managers share their concerns, ideas, and questions. Through this they are able to create a catalyst for an even more enriching “Yellow” work culture.

Project Details

NewTec GmbH
April 15th, 2014
Change Process, Collective Leadership, Culture Design, Innovation, Learning Organization, Organizational Development, Unfolding of Potential
2013 till present

Project Skills

  • Advice Process
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Empathic Listening
  • Potential Reading
  • Presencing
  • Present Communication
  • Self-Organizing System
  • Spiral Dynamics
  • Theory-U

Eine grüne Organisation auf dem Weg zu gelb.

Projektbeschreibung

Ich gehe den Bürogang entlang und sehe an einer Tür das Schild hängen „Stille – nicht stören“ und frage den Geschäftsführer: „Was bedeutet das?“. Der sagt: „Wir beginnen unsere Meetings mit 10 Minuten Stille, damit sich alle sammeln können, wirklich präsent sind und dann Probleme anpacken ohne Pokerface, politische Spielchen und Kopfsalat.“ Wir gehen in sein Büro und ich kann weder Hektik, Stress noch einen überbordenden Schreibtisch erkennen. Ich frage ihn: „Sind Sie auf dem Weg in den Urlaub?“, aber er antwortet mir: „Nein, ich bin der Berater und Coach von meinen Mitarbeitern, die jetzt selbst alle Entscheidungen treffen.“ „Aha“, sage ich, „und was heißt das?“ „Naja“, sagt er, „bis vor 2 Jahren trafen wir, die 4 Geschäftsführer, alle Entscheidungen, jedes Problem kam bei uns an und da lagen Sie nun, die Berge der ungelösten Fälle, dann hat es uns gereicht. Jetzt kommen die Mitarbeiter nur noch mit wenigen Fällen, zu denen sie eine weitere Perspektive hören wollen oder erkundigen sich, worauf sie vielleicht noch achten könnten, aber dann trifft jeder seine Entscheidung allein“. „Wow“, sage ich, „da braucht es viel Vertrauen. Und was passiert, wenn mal was in die Hose geht, Ist dann hire and fire angesagt?“. „Nein“, sagte er ruhig, „denn wir können alle aus Fehlern lernen und das Schlimmste wäre, wenn wir als Geschäftsführung überall eingreifen würden, denn dann ist es sofort vorbei mit der Potenzialentfaltungskultur und wir können wieder alles selber machen“.

Diese hier beschriebene Organisation hatte einst an dem „Grün-Sumpf-Syndrom“ gelitten. Alle durften alles sagen, jeder wurde angehört und berücksichtigt, keiner tat einem anderen weh, alle fühlten sich gleich und jeder hat jeden einbezogen – und am Ende wurde die Projekte nicht fertig! Also wurde die Ausrichtung gewechselt, die Arbeit fing damit an, Selbst-Wahrnehmung zu schulen, Gefühle zu spüren und benennen zu können und die Haltung im Kontakt zu erweitern von empathisch zu völlig präsent, bei sich, bei dem Anderen und den Blick zu haben für das Potenzial, das daraus entstehen möchte. Konfliktlösungsseminare wurden ergänzt um Workshops zum Thema Präsente Kommunikation. Das alles half, ein neues Bewusstsein im Unternehmens-Alltag zu verankern.

Dieser Prozess wurde Top-Down angegangen, ja Sie haben richtig gelesen. Die Geschäftsführer gingen voran und stellten sich persönlich dem Prozess, dann die Bereichsleiter und erst dann die Mitarbeiter. Das brachte dem Kulturwandel eine hohe Glaubwürdigkeit, denn die Geschäftsführung hatte von niemanden etwas verlangt, zu dem sie nicht selbst bereit waren. Plötzlich war es in dieser Ingenieurskultur normal geworden über Gefühle, Zweifel und Bedenken zu sprechen, um aus der neu gewonnenen Präsenz neue Lösungen zu finden, die bis dahin keiner sehen konnte. Auch die Anzahl der Meetings ist gesunken, denn brisante Themen wurden frühzeitiger erkannt und ausgeräumt. Die Konfliktfähigkeit ist gestiegen, denn es ging ja nicht mehr um die Person oder Rolle, sondern um die dahinter stehenden Bedürfnisse und den Menschen. Potenziale wurden erkennbar, die im Unternehmen bisher gar nicht wahrgenommen wurden. Dafür konnte nun Raum gefunden werden. Doch bei allem gab es die ganz klare Haltung, dass alles freiwillig war. Niemand musste irgend etwas.

Stellen Sie sich das bitte einmal so vor: Wenn ein Mitarbeiter einfach nur Softwareentwickler bleiben will, weil ihm das reicht, wird er nicht gezwungen, eine andere Position zu erklimmen, die nicht zu ihm passt. Genauso verhält es sich, wenn ein Mitarbeiter seine Führungsposition wieder abgeben will oder wenn er einfach keine Zeit, keine Lust oder noch Bedenken hat, sein Bewusstsein und seine Wahrnehmung zu entwickeln. Es ist weder gut noch schlecht. Potenzialentfaltungskultur ist ein Angebot, hier wird die Hand gereicht, es werden Wahrnehmungen angeboten und alle vier Potenzialräume werden im Mitarbeitergespräch angesprochen. Das löst bei dem einen oder anderen tatsächlich die Lust aus, sich selbst mehr zu erforschen und zu erkunden, was sein nächster Schritt, was sein eigentlicher Platz ist.

Potenzialentfaltungskultur steht nicht im Widerspruch zur Ressourcennutzung, denn es geht natürlich immer auch um das Geld verdienen. Der wesentliche Unterschied ist aber, dass wir hier nicht stehen bleiben. In besagtem Unternehmen findet vier mal im Jahr ein Innovationskreis statt, der sich ausschließlich der Kulturarbeit im Unternehmen widmet, mit den Führungskräften und Mitarbeitern, die das Seminar bereits besucht haben und es in die Praxis umsetzen. Und hier sehen wir wieder den Unterschied zu „orange“ oder „grün“. In einem 360° Stuhlkreis sind es Gleiche unter Gleichen, egal welche Hierarchiestufe. Wenn die Geschäftsführer aus einer globaleren Sicht nicht einverstanden sind mit einem Vorschlag, dann gibt es allerdings kein „rotes“ Machtwort, mit dem auf einen Schlag „grün“ und „gelb“ tot gemacht würde, sondern es gibt einen inneren Kreis, bei dem sich die 4 Geschäftsführer über ihre Bedenken, Impulse und Fragen unterhalten und damit weitere Anstöße geben wollen für eine noch bereicherndere „gelbe“ Kulturarbeit.

Projekt Details

NewTec GmbH
April 15th, 2014
Change Prozess, Collective Leadership, Innovation, Kultur Design, Lernende Organisation, Organisationsentwicklung, Potential-Entfaltung
2013 bis heute

Projekt Skills

  • Advice Process
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Empathic Listening
  • Potential Reading
  • Presencing
  • Present Communication
  • Self-Organizing System
  • Spiral Dynamics
  • Theory-U